Taking Part – Sprints

Sprints and Hillclimbs are two similar branches of motor sport that both take place on a smooth sealed surface over a measured distance against the clock. Cars start separately, although there may be up to three cars on the course at any one time. They are open to virtually any car from a perfectly standard road going car to single seater racing cars, divided into classes by types and engine capacity. TWMC sprints are held at race circuits, but some clubs hold events on airfields or private estate driveways (Hillclimbs). For sprints two or three attemps are made to go around the circuit for one or two laps.

A Hillclimb differs to a sprint in that the course is not a circuit and the start and finish are at different places. TWMC has it's own sprint championship called the 'All Circuit Sprint Championship'. It usually consists of about 9-10 events run at race circuits across the country.

Minimum Requirements

  • An MSA Competition Licence.
  • You must be at least 16 years old.
  • Please refer to the current MSA Competitors’ and Officials’ Yearbook for current Safety Equipment specifications.
  • Vist the MSAs website for full details: www.msauk.org

James Silk

The All Circuit Sprint Championship

TWMC runs its own Sprint Championship, click here for dates and details.